watch the
wildlife

Straw’s BridGE

ve icon

Known as “Swan Lake” with 3 lakes, picnic tables and a free car park.

friends of straw's bridge logo

PARKING

Free parking available.

TOILETS

Toilets may be available at pubs and cafes. Always ask first if you are not eating or drinking there.

LOCATION

Named after Samuel Straw, who in 1844 was the the overseer of the canal bridge that was then called Moor’s Bridge. Mr Straw lived in a cottage on the right, heading to Ilkeston (now demolished) and the bridge took on his name.

The original bridge has now gone, but the replacement has continued his legacy. Straw’s Bridge reserve has 3 lakes, picnic tables and a free car park and is perfect for cycling, walking and watching the wildlife.

There is plenty of wildlife to see throughout the year. Ducks and swans can be seen most of the time and the spring and summer brings the insects and butterflies.

  • Click images to view full gallery
explore erewash